When I first stared to read this memoir, my thoughts were, ‘Ok, this lady cannot be serious!’ Then I kept reading and sort of felt a connection to him. When I was 4 years old, my mom signed me up for my first ballet class. She dropped me off and I cried and cried. But then, my dance teacher put on the music we were supposed to warm-up to. At that moment, I stopped crying and began paying attention so intently. I did every move just as instructed and did every step just like my teacher. Soon, I had forgotten I missed my mother. When she came to pick me up and hour later, she was delighted to find me frollicking around the dance floor like some maniac. I couldn’t wait to get home and show her and my brother the new moves I had learned and I also couldn’t wait to get back onto that dance floor. The whole week after my first dance class, I floated and twirled around my house humming tunes to myself and envisioning myself as a beautiful ballerina. I’ve been dancing ever since. Though my dreams of becoming a prima-ballerina have changed slightly, I still find pleasure in getting up on a stage and just letting myself be free. I have also found joy in other forms of the arts. I love to sing, and I love musical theater. My dance experience has opened the door for me in so many ways and has also showed me that I am most comfortable on a stgae in front of an  audience, sharing with them my talents. This boy found his pleasure in turtles, I found my pleasure in the stage.

