I found this article by Malcom X very interesting. I never knew that he was so illiterate. He presentedhimself as such an educated man, I now know that he was self educated. I think that it is a wonderful thing that they allow people in prison to read and that they are rewarded when they do so. Reading can open up new worlds and I believe that in this case it has a almost calming effect on the inmates. I couldnt believe that he was so passionate about learning new words that he copied the entire dictionary! I thought that it showed his true passion when he said that, ‘three or four hours of sleep a night was enough for me.”(4). It was also good that his reading caused him to see the inequalities in the world against his race, he ignited a fire among other African Americans, without his knowledge or his passion they would be in a very different place then they are right now.

-Cait

