On Wednesday the 3rd I attended the “Living with AIDS” Wellness Wednesday program. I really didn’t know what to expect when I first walked in and I just kept wondering what are we going to talk about. Well, I must say that the program was very touching along with informative. A woman, who is HIV positive, told us her story about how she got the infection and what her life is like now and how much it has changed the person she is today. Just to give a little background, her name is Marlene and she is 52 years old. She first found out she was HIV positive when she was just 33 years old. She was married, however her husband had had numerous affairs with both men and woman without her knowing. She had always saved sex until she got married, so when she found out she had the infection, she was devestated. Her husband received a call only to find out that he was not only HIV positive, but that he has been diagnosed with the actual disease, AIDS itself. I am currently in Health 163 which is an HIV Epidemic course, so I had a little background on the process of AIDS before I attended the program. Marlene ended up taking care of her husband for two years, which included changing his diapers and spoon feeding him. He died when she was only 35 years old. Marlene’s story was definitely more in depth than that, but that is just a brief overview. The last 45 minutes of the program was dedicated to questions that could be asked by the audience, and there were a lot of great questions, which were somewhat personal as well. I thought her story was very touching and very informative. I learned many new things that I wouldn’t get out of my health class. It was very interesting and I enjoyed attending.

