You are currently browsing the daily archive for September 5, 2007.

Life for the past week has been insane! Insane meaning busy.  Learning where my classes are, doing my own laundry, trying to find time to eat, and of course the weekend nights.  As for my roomate and i, we are not very much alike at all, in fact we are like total opposites.  As time goes on we are getting to know eachother more, and its not so bad.  I look forward to mid semester grades, so i can get a better idea of what i have to do.

Katie Webb

It was in the exhibit lounge of Corey Union at 7pm today.  I was five minutes late, but i was not the only one. It was a very relaxed atmosphere, where you could talk about issues you may be facing in your first experience here at Cortland.  We met a couple of the councelors located in Van Hoesen, and a director of residential services.  it was a good time…. even though it went over ten minutes :).  Oh and i am writing this responce because i did not recieve any kind of slip saying i did, so i guess this is on a trust basis.

Katie Webb

When I first stared to read this memoir, my thoughts were, ‘Ok, this lady cannot be serious!’ Then I kept reading and sort of felt a connection to him. When I was 4 years old, my mom signed me up for my first ballet class. She dropped me off and I cried and cried. But then, my dance teacher put on the music we were supposed to warm-up to. At that moment, I stopped crying and began paying attention so intently. I did every move just as instructed and did every step just like my teacher. Soon, I had forgotten I missed my mother. When she came to pick me up and hour later, she was delighted to find me frollicking around the dance floor like some maniac. I couldn’t wait to get home and show her and my brother the new moves I had learned and I also couldn’t wait to get back onto that dance floor. The whole week after my first dance class, I floated and twirled around my house humming tunes to myself and envisioning myself as a beautiful ballerina. I’ve been dancing ever since. Though my dreams of becoming a prima-ballerina have changed slightly, I still find pleasure in getting up on a stage and just letting myself be free. I have also found joy in other forms of the arts. I love to sing, and I love musical theater. My dance experience has opened the door for me in so many ways and has also showed me that I am most comfortable on a stgae in front of an  audience, sharing with them my talents. This boy found his pleasure in turtles, I found my pleasure in the stage.

            It is intriguing that at such a young age, someone can find their true passion in life.  I myself at a young age found that my desire was to be a teacher, and as time went on I realized that English is what would be my main focus.  English was never my strong point when it came to grammar and design, but the creative aspect.  I look forward to showing students the strength in English.  It is my passion to have students that share my passion.

 

Katie Webb

While reading “Still Life with Turtle” by David Carroll, I found myself interested in the fact that by the time the author was age eight, he had already decided what he loved, and that passion was turtles. Carroll stated that “… I marveled at the feel of the turtle in my hands. It was as if I had been allowed to clasp life itself in my hands.” The moment he laid eyes upon that first turtle he knew he had to hold it and that is exactly what he did. The very first moment with turtles sparked his life long interest. The more I read, the more I found myself constantly seeing similarities to my own life. As this child moved to his new town very far away he set out for adventure and eventually found his life long passion. Whereas I am a college freshman embarking on my new adventure miles away from home trying to find what it is I will truly love doing. However, for me, my passion is not turtles, but one could say that my “turtle” is reading and creative writing. No matter what the content is i have always loved to read and write and would enjoy sharing that passion with other people. Hence, my passion of reading and writing or my “turtles” is why I have a desire to teach and is why I attend SUNY Cortland

September 2007
S M T W T F S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30